Rally and Soloists Awards Presented Friday at Convention

LAS VEGAS (February 12, 2011) – The top SCCA Soloists and Rally participants were recognized on Friday at the 2011 Sports Car Club of America Convention, taking place at the South Point Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas.

Roger “The Famous” Johnson began the luncheon addressing the crowd, but was playfully removed as the event’s emcee by SCCA President Jeff Dahnert for being “too old” after realizing that the Roots article in this month’s SportsCar that featured Johnson was not from 10 years ago, but 25 years ago. Johnson actually gave way to TireRack’s Woody Rogers to continue the award ceremony.

Heyward Wagner, filling in for Pete Hylton, narrated a slide show of old SCCA cars and tracks that is forming the basis for Hylton’s upcoming book, More Ghost Tracks and a humorous recap of the “off-track” activities at last year’s Solo National Championship.

Jim Wakeman, RoadRally Chairman, presented the Washington DC Region with the Regional Achievement Award, and the Southern Pacific Division with the Divisional Achievement Award for excellence in RoadRally. John Emmons’ Badger Trails Rally, in the Land O’ Lakes Region, earned the National Tour Rally of the Year. The Steve Gaddy-designed Lobster Traps Rally earned the Arthur J. Gervais Award for the National Course Rally of the Year.

Subaru was awarded the Manufacturer of the Year in RoadRally for their support of the program in 2010.

RallyCross Board Chairman Ken Cashion presented the award winners for the RallyCross program. The Alabama Region earned the Regional Achievement Award, while the Great Lakes Division earned the Divisional Achievement Award.

Solo Events Board Chairman Steve Hudson presented a host of awards to standouts in SCCA’s autocross division. In addition to the Solo Divisional of the Year awarded to the Great Lakes Division, a host of Solo drivers were recognized.

Andrew Pallotta, from the NeOhio Region, earned Rookie of the Year for his accomplishments in 2010, while Jinx Jordan of the New England Region claimed the Driver of the Year.

Two additional award winners were acknowledged during the luncheon. Road Trip Racing drivers Tom Holt and Richard Windberg earned the 2010 Johnson Spirit of the Sport Award, while Andy Hollis took home the 2010 Tire Rack ProSolo JCJ Cup Championship for the overall Tire Rack ProSolo Challenge Championship. All three Lone Star Region drivers were previously given the awards at last season’s Tire Rack Solo National Championships.

Capping the ceremony, the names of the 10 Solo Triad winners for 2010 who captured a Division Championship, a States Championship and a National Championship, all in the same class, were placed in the Solo Cup. John Ma, of the Milwaukee Region, captured the Lifetime SCCA Membership in the random draw of the Triad winners.

Follow the progress and the happenings from the South Point Hotel and Casino on SCCA.com, @SCCAOfficial on Twitter, or become a fan of SCCA Inc. on Facebook.

Related Racing News

    blog comments powered by Disqus