Club Racers Honored At Convention Luncheon

LAS VEGAS (February 12, 2011) – Lunchtime at the third and final day of the SCCA Convention and Annual Meeting at the South Point Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas celebrated the achievements of Club Racers in 2010.

Tire Rack’s Woody Johnson hosted the Club Racing Awards Luncheon Presented by Mazda North American Operations, gathering the more than 440 attendees at the convention together to recognize outstanding achievement of a select group of drivers, crew members and administrators.

For the first time, Time Trials were recognized as part of the Club Racing luncheon. Matt Rowe and Tony Machi, co-chairs of the Time Trials Adminstrative Council, presented awards to the top region and participant in 2010.

Also presented during the annual luncheon were the David Morrell Memorial Award for Chief Stewards, Mechanic of the Year, the Kimberly Cup awarded to the most improved Club Racer, the Jim Fitzgerald Rookie of the Year Award, and the Martin W. Tanner Award for unusual courage while exposed to danger.

John Fergus, a multi-time SCCA National Champion, represented the Road Racing Driver’s Club to award the prestigious Mark Donohue Award. The Donohue Award has been presented annually since 1976 to the SCCA Club Racing driver who best exhibits outstanding performance, sportsmanship and competitiveness at the National Championship Runoffs®. Peter Shawdowen, from the Florida Region, earned the 2010 award.

Time Trial Event of the Year
Drive For Babies PDX – Milwaukee Region

Rich Shafer Time Trial Participant of the Year Award
Rob Bedelas – Milwaukee Region

David Morrell Memorial Award (Outstanding Performance by a National Chief Steward)
Jim Rogaski – San Francisco Region

Mechanic of the Year Award
Randy Hartman – Ohio Valley Region

Kimberly Cup (Most Improved Driver)
Richard Shields – Steel City Region

Jim Fitzgerald Rookie of the Year Award
Sean Rayhall – Atlanta Region

Martin W. Tanner Award (For unusual courage while exposed to danger)
Nelson Ledges Rescue Team; Denny Freeman, Chief – Steel Cities Region

Mark Donohue Award (For outstanding performance, sportsmanship and competitiveness in SCCA Club Racing, presented by the Road Racing Driver’s Club)
Peter Shawdowen – Florida Region

Photo: 15-year-old Sean Rayhall accepts the Rookie of the Year trophy from Jeff Dahnert.


If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your email!

Related Racing News



You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment

To comment, click below to log in.