GP3R / Trois Rivieres / Quebec (August 14, 2010) – Continuing his string of pole position qualifying efforts,
Indianapolis native Conor Daly, the current series points leader with five wins and seven poles, will start on
the inside of the front row for tomorrow’s Round 10 of the 20th anniversary 2010 Star Mazda Championship
presented by Goodyear at the 41st annual GP3R at Trois-Rivières. Daly earned his position on the grid
with a lap of 1:01.617 in his #22 Juncos Racing / INDECK / The College Network / Merchant Services
Ltd. Mazda. Starting alongside Daly, appropriately enough, will be the Norwegian racer who is currently
second in the championship battle, Anders ‘The Viking’ Krohn. He turned a lap just 8/100ths of a second
slower, 1:01.698, in his #47 Andersen Racing / Norse Cutting & Abandonment / Trallfa / Colosseum Mazda.
Rounding out the top-4 are Brazilian driver Caio Lara, on the inside of the second row with a lap of
1:01.792 in the #19 JDC Motorsports / MLD / ATW Mazda, followed by the ‘surprise factor’ in the race, last
year’s winner Alex Ardoin of Lafayette, Louisiana who turned a lap of 1:01.830 in the #51 Team GDT /
General Data Tech / Oral and Facial Surgery Center Mazda. It is worth noting that Ardoin has not driven a
race car since the end of last season, and was in Trois-Rivières as a driver coach for the Team GDT drivers
when the team owner and leading Expert Series driver, Texan J.W. Roberts, decided to put him in a car for
the race.

Although a 3-season veteran of the series and winner of this race in 2009, Ardoin had not driven a lap in
anger for the better part of a year. That notwithstanding, the talented young Cajun – resigned to a
weekend with friends — responded to a request from Team GDT by flying up to Trois-Rivières on a
moment’s notice to coach their drivers. As such situations will, it developed into him entered as the
team’s third driver for the event. Home-town hero Mikael Grenier, will start 7th on the grid with a lap of
1:02.097 in the #17 Andersen Racing / Slow Cow / April Super Flow / NAPA Auto Parts / HS Telecom /
Desharnais Mazda. He was quicker in practice, but his car suffered from a fuel pump failure during the
early laps and his time is not really an indicator of his capabilities; look for a charge up through the field
from the young Quebec racer who won his first race at New Jersey Motorsports Park earlier in the season
and is currently 4th in the points.

It should also be noted that Grenier was named the official spokesperson for the GP3R for the next two
years at an announcement will be made by GP3R General Manager Francois Bordeleau and GP3R
President Joël St Pierre during a press conference in Quebec City, on Tuesday morning.

In addition to young hotshoes from around the globe, the Star Mazda Championship presented by
Goodyear also features a race-within-a-race for drivers in the Expert (ages 30-44) and Master (45 and
older) Series. Last year’s Expert Series winner, the aforementioned Texan J.W. Roberts, won his class at
the 40th annual GP3R and has continued his winning ways; he is the leading the Expert Series with six inclass
wins so far this season driving the #65 Team GDT / General Data Tech Mazda. He will start 16th in
the 18-car field with a time of 1:03.741.

The 18-car field will take the green light for the traditional standing start at 1:00 pm tomorrow. The race is
scheduled for 45 minutes and will be broadcast in two different formats; on RDS in Quebec (in HD, tapedelayed
until later in the month), and worldwide via streaming video through a pay service offered by the
Grand Prix. Please visit for additional information.

Star Mazda GP3R Qualifying
Saturday, August 14, 2010 / 2:35 pm – 3:20 pm
Pos No. Name Class Best Tm In Lap Diff Best Speed
1 22 Conor Daly Formula Mazda 1:01.617 7 88.848
2 47 Anders Krohn Formula Mazda 1:01.698 13 0.081 88.731
3 19 Caio Lara Formula Mazda 1:01.792 12 0.175 88.596
4 51 Alex Ardoin Formula Mazda 1:01.830 10 0.213 88.541
5 9 Jorge Goncalvez Formula Mazda 1:01.836 15 0.219 88.533
6 38 Tristan Vautier Formula Mazda 1:01.984 15 0.367 88.322
7 17 Mikael Grenier Formula Mazda 1:02.097 6 0.480 88.161
8 11 Connor De Phillippi Formula Mazda 1:02.285 14 0.668 87.895
9 81 Nick Andries Formula Mazda 1:02.447 18 0.830 87.667
10 16 David Ostella Formula Mazda 1:02.498 11 0.881 87.595
11 21 Kevin Toledo Formula Mazda 1:02.637 16 1.020 87.401
12 18 Joao Horto Formula Mazda 1:02.661 15 1.044 87.367
13 66 Rusty Mitchell Formula Mazda 1:02.836 11 1.219 87.124
14 25 Tatiana Calderon Formula Mazda 1:02.857 6 1.240 87.095
15 85 Chris Miller Formula Mazda 1:03.086 7 1.469 86.779
16 65 J.W. Roberts Formula Mazda 1:03.741 7 2.124 85.887
17 23 Walt Bowlin Formula Mazda 1:04.667 7 3.050 84.657
18 31 Carlos Conde Formula Mazda 1:04.819 18 3.202 84.459
19 20 Carlos Linares Formula Mazda 0
This is the first event of a 3-race, back-to-back ‘road trip’ for drivers and teams in the Star Mazda
Championship. Round 11, part of the American Le Mans ‘Time Warner Cable Road Race Showcase’
weekend will take place on Saturday, August 21, followed by Round 12, also with ALMS, at the MOBIL1
Presents the Grand Prix of Mosport on August 28. The series’ finale, the 13th race in an 11-weekend
season, is also with ALMS at the Petit Le Mans at Road Atlanta and will take place October 1.

Star Mazda drivers are competing for prizes valued at $1.5 million, with prize money paid down through
15th place. The series champion wins $100,000 in cash, a test with a top Indy Lights team and a Mazda-sponsored
Motorsports Driver Development Ladder, the only automaker-supported motorsports scholarship program
reaching from entry-level karting to the top levels of the sport. Drivers in the series also benefit from the
IndyCar ‘Road to Indy’ program that provides a clear path for young open-wheel drivers whose goal is to
race in IndyCar and the Indy 500.

drive in the 2011 Grand-Am series, racing an RX-8 in the GT1 class as part of the MAZDASPEED

Related Racing News

  • New Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 Available for Order, Priced from €334,000 Plus Taxes | Free Auto Guide


blog comments powered by Disqus