33 Drivers Take Titles as Opening Half of Tire Rack Solo Nationals Concludes

Ken Motonishi en route to the inaugural STR National Championship in Lincoln. Photo:Rupert Berrington

LINCOLN, Neb. (Sept. 8, 2010) – The first round of titles were awarded Wednesday after the opening two days of competition at the 38th Tire Rack SCCA Solo National Championships at the Lincoln Airpark. In all, 25 of the 33 classes were taken by drivers holding the overnight lead, while eight others saw a change at the top for the National Championship.

Leading the list of drivers holding serve from Tuesday’s runs were a pair of drivers taking their fourth-consecutive National Championships. Mark Madarash, of Red Oak, Texas, drove his No. 191 Pontiac Trans Am to a 1.384-second victory over Samuel Krauss’ Doug’s Auto/NEPTune/TRE Eagle Talon in E Street Prepared. Jeff Kiesel equaled the feat in E Modified, taking his Goodyear Tire KFR Turbo Sprite to a dominating fourth-straight title.

Kiesel’s wife, two-time Champion Shawn Marie Kiesel, was one of the eight drivers to pass the opening day leader to earn a title. Trailing defending and 13-time Champion Patty Tunnell’s BarekAub.com/Hoosier/H&R BMW M3 by 0.137-second after day one, Kiesel took the lead after her second run in the Goodyear KFR Turbo Sprite and was then helped by Tunnell’s trouble on her second run, when the supercharged motor expired. The Kiesel family almost had three Nationals wins, as 10-year old son Zak finished second in the supplemental (Non-Championship) Formula Junior B driving a kart he only first ran this week.

In other family news, Jeff and Denise Cashmore, of New Berlin, Wis., took the D Modified and D Modified Ladies Championships, respectively, in the Del Long Sprinto 7. Andy and Anne Hollis, of Austin, Texas, took Street Touring Xtreme and STXL, respectively in their Soulspeed/GRM/PowerCurve Honda Civic Si. Finally, Jinx and Ginette Jordan, of Terrell, N.C., won in F Street Prepared and FSPL, respectively in their SoloPro Driving School/Hoosier Honda Civic.

Jinx Jordan had a particularly memorable title run, holding off multi-time Champion David Fauth by just 0.059-second. It was Jordan’s third National Championship, and first since 1988. The 22-year gap is tied for second longest all-time behind Jim Garry and Gerald Fink, who went 23 years between titles.

The driver making up the most ground on the field Wednesday to take a Championship was Tom Ellam, of Livermore, Calif, in E Prepared. Ellam was fifth after runs on Tuesday, but outran the field on Wednesday in his Altamont Tech/Ankeny Racing Mazda RX-3 by enough to secure his seventh title.

Other drivers coming from behind on day one to win their class National Championship Wednesday included: John Ma (D Stock), Andrew Pallotta (Street Touring U), Steve Hoelscher (D Prepared), Anne Robinson (D Prepared Ladies) and Suzanne Segal (Formula 125 Ladies).

Driving his Holeshot! Mitsubishi Evo 8, Pallotta, of Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, was one of two drivers to capture a National Championship as a Rookie at the Tire Rack Solo National Championships. Day one leader Kristi Gaus, of Wexford, Pa., won STU Ladies in her maiden trip to Nationals in her Mitsubishi Evo 8.

In addition to the 33 National Championships awarded, two young drivers earned supplemental class wins at the Nationals. Julian Garfield, of Mount Airy, Md., earned his third-straight win at Nationals, moving up from Formula Junior B to Formula Junior A this year. Tom Regganie, of Shorewood, Ill., took the Formula Junior B win.

Thursday starts the entire process over again for the second half of classes competing for 2010 National Championships. For full results and live timing of Thursday and Friday’s runs, please visit www.scca.com/solonats.

Attached: Ken Motonishi en route to the inaugural Street Touring Roadster National Championship in His Mazda MX-5 Miata.
Credit: Rupert Berrington photo.

LINCOLN, Neb. – National Champions from the first 33 classes run Tuesday and Wednesday to award top honors at the 38th Tire Rack® SCCA Solo National Championships at Lincoln Airpark with class, winning driver, hometown, car and number of Championships.
A Stock: Radomin Delgado, Glendale, Calif., Porsche Cayman S. First National Championship
A Stock L: Stephanie Chang, Morris Plains, N.J., Porsche Cayman S. Third National Championship, first in class.
B Stock: Marc Pfannenschmidt, Louisville, Ky., Honda S2000. First National Championship.
B Stock L: Christina Peterson, Hillsborough, N.C., Honda S2000. First National Championship after three runner-ups.
D Stock*: John Ma, Fitchburg, Wis., MINI Cooper S. First National Championship.
D Stock L: Katie Elder, Folsom, Calif., Acura Integra R. 12th National Championship.
G Stock: Kevin Royce, Lake Orion, Mich., Dodge Neon SRT4. First National Championship.
H Stock: Jimmy Crawford, New Berlin, Wis., MINI Cooper. Second-consecutive HS National Championship.
H Stock L: Barbara Leroy Boehme, San Diego, Calif., MINI Cooper. Second National Championship.
Street Touring Sport: Andrew Canak, Milwaukee, Wis., Mazda Miata. Second National Championship.
Street Touring Sport L: Laura Harbour, Stamping Ground, Ky., Mazda Miata. First National Championship.
Street Touring Xtreme: Andy Hollis, Austin, Texas, Honda Civic Si. Second National Championship.
Street Touring Xtreme L: Ann Hollis, Austin, Texas, Honda Civic Si. Fifth National Championship.
Street Touring R: Ken Motonishi, Chino Hills, Calif., Mazda MX-5. Fourth National Championship.
Street Touring R L: Angie Rogers, Granger, Ind., Mazda MX-5. Second National Championship.
Street Touring Ultra*: Andrew Pallotta, Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, Mitsubishi Evo. Rookie National Champion.
Street Touring Ultra L: Kristi Gaus, Wexford, Pa., Mitsubishi Evo 8. Rookie Champion.
E Street Prepared: Mark Madarash, Red Oak, Texas, Pontiac Trans Am. Sixth National Championship, four consecutive in ESP.
E Street Prepared L: Bernadette Regganie, Joliet, Ill., Chevrolet Camaro Z28. Fourth National Championship.
F Street Prepared: Jinx Jordan, Terrell, N.C., Honda Civic. Third National Championship, first since 1988.
F Street Prepared L: Ginette Jordan, Terrell, N.C., Honda Civic. 10th National Championship.
D Prepared*: Steve Hoelscher, Harpers Ferry, W.V., Toyota MR2. Sixth National Championship.
D Prepared L*: Anne Robinson, Highland, Ind., Toyota MR2 Spyder. First National Championship.
E Prepared*: Tom Ellam, Livermore, Calif., Mazda RX-3. Seventh National Championship.
E Prepared L: Charina Hansen, Canton, Mich., Honda Civic Si; No other competitors.
G Prepared: Allen Kugler, Springton, Pa., Honda CRX. Third National Championship.
G Prepared L: Denise Kugler (D), Springtown, Pa., Honda CRX. Sixth National Championship.
B Modified: Clemens Burger, Noblesville, Ind., LeGrand. Second-consecutive B Modified Championship.
C Modified: John Engstrom, Lisle, Ill., Swift DB1. Third National Championship.
D Modified: Jeff Cashmore (D), New Berlin, Wis., Sprinto 7. Seventh National Championship, third-straight in DM.
D Modified L: Denise Cashmore, New Berlin, Wis., Sprinto 7. Fourth National Championship.
E Modified: Jeff Kiesel, Poway, Calif., KFR Turbo Sprite. Fourth-consecutive EM Championship.
E Modified L*: Shawn Marie Kiesel, Poway, Calif., KFR Turbo Sprite. Third National Championship.
Formula 125: Paul Russell, San Diego, Calif., Tony Kart. Third National Championship, second-consecutive.
Formula 125 L*: Suzanne Segal, Las Vegas, Nev., Birel. Eighth National Championship.

source http://www.scca.com

If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your email!

Related Racing News


You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment

To comment, click below to log in.