GoRacingTV’s Daily News Show from the 46th annual SCCA Runoffs News coverage is courtesy of Honda HPD. Day 1

Final Grids Set For Weekend’s SCCA Runoffs At Road America

ELKHART LAKE, Wis. (Sept. 23, 2010) – Qualifying is now complete for all 28 classes at the SCCA National Championship Runoffs Presented by Subway, with 21 more drivers earning Gumout Pole Awards on Thursday at Road America.

Thursday marked the third and final qualifying sessions for each of the 21 classes, but a windy, humid day kept times slower, for the most part, than previous days’ qualifying periods. Only Cliff Ebben, of Appleton, Wisconsin, earned a pole in the third qualifying, posting a best lap of 2:05.075 (115.131 mph). Ebben was the polesitter after Monday in his No. 36 McMahon Group/Stumpf Ford/Lamers Racing Ford Mustang, but was bumped on Wednesday by Michael Lewis, of Poway, Calif. Ebben’s top time on Thursday lowered the GT-1 Runoffs qualifying record.

Defending Champion Scott Tucker, of Overland Park, Kan., will start on pole in his No. 55 Level 5 Motorsports Ferrari 430 Challenge for the Hawk Performance Touring 1 National Championship Race with a best time of 2:20.266 (102.622 mph). Andy Wolverton will lead the field to the start of the Black Magic Touring 2 National Championship Race after posting a best time of 2:30.403 (95.743 mph) in his No. 86 Hoosier Tires/Raw Racing Pontiac Solstice GXP.

Photo:John Steflik

Mark Boden, Winnetka, Ill., earned the Gumout pole and the right to start the Gumout GT-2 National Championship Race on the front row with a best time of 2:18.328 (104.100 mph) over three days in his No. 45 Fall-Line Motorsports Porsche 996 GT3 Cup. Mike Henderson, of El Cajon, Calif., will start the Sunoco GT-3 National Championship Race from the pole after a week-best time of 2:22.480 (101.067 mph) in the No. 12 Mazda RX-7.

Seven classes in the Formula Car category completed qualifying on Thursday. Tom Schweitz, of Winchester, Va., piloted his No. 72 Steel Services Citation FB/Suzuki to the Formula 1000 pole in the class’s first year at the Runoffs with a best time of 2:08.080 (112.430 mph). Keith Grant, of Germantown, Tenn., will start on pole for the Formula Atlantic race after a best time of 2:02.476 (117.574 mph) in his No. 40 Hoosier/Polestar Swift 014/Toyota. Grant’s time was set on Monday.

Niki Coello, of East Troy, Wis., turned a fast lap in his second qualifying session that was enough for the Gumout Pole in Formula Continental. Coello posted a time of 2:12.491 (108.687 mph) in his No. 81 RFR/Hoosier Tire/Poured Foundations Ralph Firman RFR 0010/Ford. Scott Rettich, of Camden, Ohio, did the same in Formula Enterprises, claiming the top spot with a best time of 2:15.248 (106.471 mph) in the No. 17 Hippi Racing/Wine Country Motorsports Formula Enterprises/Mazda. Reid Hazelton, of Burlington, Wis., also posted a fast lap during the second session of the week and holds the pole in the Formula Ford class with a time of 2:22.554 (101.014 mph) in the No. 01 Hoosier/Farley Engines/LMI/Primus Vain Diemen RF-92 Ford.

Like the other open-wheel classes, the Formula Mazda and Formula Vee Gumout polesitters set the award-winning times in session two. Jason Vinkemulder, of Spring Lake, Mich., topped the Formula Mazda class in the No. 10 Vinkemulder Financial/Lake Effect Star Formula Mazda with a time of 2:16.437 (105.543 mph), while Michael Varacins, of Burlington, Wis., did the same in FV behind the wheel of the No. 65 SpeedSport/Hoosier/Veetech SpeedSport AM-5/VW with a time of 2:41.316 (89.266 mph).

In Showroom Stock, Matthew Staal, of Torrance, Calif., will start on the point for the Showroom Stock B race, while Joel Lipperini, of Pittston, Pa., will lead the Showroom Stock C field to the green flag. Staal set his fast time of 2:42.183 (88.789 mph) during Wednesday’s optimal conditions behind the wheel of the No. 53 Honda Racing/HPD/BFGoodrich Tires, while Lipperini’s pole time of 2:48.434 (85.493 mph) in the No. 1 RaceLabz/BFGoodrich/Rcshpr/Redline/Chs Acura Integra LS came during Monday’s opening day of qualifying.

Steve Sargis, of Frankfort, Ill., held the top spot of both the H Production and F Production charts. Driving the No. 18 SBS Batteries/Goodyear Tire Triumph Spitfire 1500 in FP, Sargis is on the pole with a time of 2:30.789 (95.498 mph) and posted a best time of 2:41.988 (88.895 mph) in a different No. 18 SS Batteries/Goodyear Tire Triumph Spitfire in HP.

Tom Sloe (American Sedan), Steve Forrer (C Sports Racing), Brian Schofield (Spec Racer Ford), Corey Fergus (Sports 2000) and David Pintaric (Super Touring Over) also earned Gumout Poles with fast laps through the week.

Racing begins on Friday morning at 8:30 a.m. (CDT) with the first nine National Championships crowned on the day. Live timing is available all week at www.scca.com/runoffs.

The live broadcast of all 28 National Championship races will be available throughout the weekend at www.Speedcastv.com.

Follow the action on Twitter @SCCAOfficial or the SCCA, Inc. Official Facebook page at facebook.com/sccaofficial.
See more about this event

Related Racing News

    blog comments powered by Disqus