SunTrust Racing Reunited With General Motors

Ricky Taylor and Max Angelelli will return to SunTrust Racing in 2011.
ATLANTA – Wayne Taylor Racing’s No. 10 SunTrust Dallara Daytona Prototype will be reunited with General Motors for the first time since 2008 as SunTrust Racing co-drivers Max Angelelli and Ricky Taylor will be powered by Chevrolet engines for the 2011 GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series presented by Crown Royal Cask No. 16 season, the team announced today.

Ricky Taylor and Max Angelelli will return to SunTrust Racing in 2011.General Motors’ Pontiac brand powered the SunTrust Racing team through the first five seasons of its Rolex Series existence, a historic 66-race stretch from 2004 through 2008 that included 12 race victories, 34 podium finishes, 44 top-fives, 56 top-10s and 10 pole positions, highlighted by the Rolex Series championship for Angelelli and co-driver Wayne Taylor in 2005.

“Having been with GM through most all of my racing career in North America, I am extremely happy to be back with GM,” said Wayne Taylor, whose SunTrust Racing effort concluded a two-year run with Roush Yates Ford engines last month with a second-place finish in the 2010 Rolex Series title chase. “Clearly, there is a lot of motivation to get SunTrust and GM back on top in the championship, so there is a tremendous amount of excitement already building for the 2011 season on all fronts. I can’t wait for it to get here.”

The 2011 season kicks off with the traditional Rolex 24 At Daytona twice-around-the-clock endurance classic Jan. 29-30 at Daytona International Speedway. Angelelli and Wayne Taylor dominated that event in 2005 en route to that year’s series championship, scoring their first of five wins together that season to go with 10 podium finishes in 14 events and lead-lap finishes at every single race.
Angelelli and the 21-year-old Ricky Taylor will be back in the SunTrust Racing prototype in 2011 for their second consecutive season together. In 2010, the duo recorded a Memorial Day victory at Lime Rock Park in Lakeville, Conn., to go with seven podium finishes, 11 top-10s and three pole positions.

“We are thrilled that SunTrust and Wayne Taylor Racing have chosen to race with Chevrolet engines next year,” said Mark Kent, Director, GM Racing. “We look forward to being reunited with this championship-winning team.”

“This just seems to be the beginning of a great technical partnership with us,” added Richie Gilmore, Chief Operating Officer, Earnhardt-Childress Racing Engines, the Lexington, N.C.-based manufacturer of the No. 10 SunTrust Chevrolet Dallara engine. “SunTrust and Wayne Taylor Racing are all about trying to win championships, which is in our DNA. The combination of ECR Engines and Wayne Taylor Racing is something we’re really looking forward to getting off the ground in 2011.”

Earnhardt-Childress Racing Engines was formed in 2007 as a joint venture between Dale Earnhardt, Inc., and Richard Childress Racing. The company produces engines for Chevrolet-powered competitors in NASCAR’s Sprint Cup, Nationwide and Camping World Truck Series, in addition to the Rolex Series and the SCCA Trans-Am Series.

General Motors-powered Daytona Prototypes have won more Rolex Series races (36), have had more podium finishes (116) and qualified on the pole more times (37) than any other engine manufacturer. In addition to powering the SunTrust team’s 2005 Daytona Prototype championship, General Motors engines powered the No. 99 Gainsco/Bob Stallings Racing team of Alex Gurney and Jon Fogarty to the 2007 and 2009 Daytona Prototype driver and team championships.
The SunTrust team will first take to the track for the 2011 season at the Roar Before the 24 Test Days at Daytona Jan. 7-9. Additional co-drivers for the SunTrust Racing effort at the Rolex 24 will be announced.


Related Racing News