USF2000 Announces 2011 Schedule Consisting of 14 Races from March to Sept.

PALMETTO, Fla., Oct. 12 – Today officials of the “Cooper Tires Presents the
USF2000 National Championship Powered by Mazda” released an exciting 2011
schedule for the series, which is part of both the Road to Indy and the
MAZDASPEED Motorsports driver development programs.

Continuing its mission to stage its races at high-profile events, the 2011
schedule has grown to 14 races at eight events, which is an increase of two
races from 2010.

The 2011 season opener is on St. Patrick’s Day in March when the series
supports one of the world’s most prestigious endurance sports car races, the
Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring at Sebring, Fla. It closes in September when
it is part of the Labor Day extravaganza at the brand-new street course event
at Baltimore’s Inner Harbor.

The series will support IZOD IndyCar Series events four times. The series
will also salute the past when it is part of the historic “Night Before the
500″ show at O’Reilly Raceway Park in Indianapolis a few hours before the
Indianapolis 500 is held a few miles east.

The USF2000 series will also appear on the card for races staged by the
American Le Mans Series presented by Tequila Patron four times. Two of those
events will also feature the IZOD IndyCar Series.

The USF2000 series is committed to provide training on the three different
types of tracks young drivers need to be proficient on before they reach the
IZOD IndyCar Series, so the 2011 schedule consists of two oval-track races,
four on temporary street circuits and eight on permanent road courses.

All of the events are doubleheaders except for the two oval-track races.

The races at Sebring and Baltimore as well as the events at the venerable
Milwaukee Mile and the always-popular Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course are new
venues for the series, which was revived in 2010 from the very popular USF2000
series of 1990 through 2006.

The top driver in the USF2000 series’ Championship class earns a
scholarship package from Mazda valued at $350,000 to help him or her advance to the
Star Mazda series the following season. Andretti Autosport’s Sage Karam of
Nazareth, Pa. won that title in 2010.

The USF2000 series’ National class is open to any car that meets the
current SCCA Formula Continental regulations. The titlist in the National class
receives a $20,000 awards package consisting of a new, race-ready Mazda MZR
2.0 engine and additional pieces that are needed to convert a Zetec Van Diemen
to Mazda power. AcceleRace Motorsports’ Ardie Greenamyer of Louisville,
Ky. is the 2010 champion of the National class.

Drivers and teams wishing to test during the pre-season will be interested
in the Cooper Tires Winterfest, a separate, two-event, five-race series that
is being conducted at Sebring and Homestead, Fla. in January. That
schedule, as well as much more information, is available on the series’ Web site at

The series’ regular 2011 schedule follows.

2011 USF2000 Schedule*

Race 1 March 17 Sebring Int’l Raceway w/ALMS

Race 2 March 18 Sebring, Fla. (12 Hours of Sebring) 3.7-mile road course

Race 3 March 26 Streets of St. Petersburg w/IndyCar

Race 4 March 27 St Petersburg, Fla. (St. Petersburg Grand Prix) 1.8-mile street course

Race 5 May 28 O’Reilly Raceway Park w/USAC Midgets Indianapolis, Ind. (Night Before the 500) 0.686-mile oval

Race 6 June 18 The Milwaukee Mile w/IndyCar Milwaukee, Wis. 1-mile oval

Race 7 July 30 Autobahn Country Club w/Star Mazda

Race 8 July 31 Joliet, Ill. (Harrah’s Grand Prix) 3.56-mile road course

Race 9 Aug. 5 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course w/IndyCar/ALMS

Race 10 Aug. 6 Lexington, Ohio 2.258-mile road course

Race 11 Aug. 19 Road America w/ALMS

Race 12 Aug. 20 Elkhart Lake, Wis. (Time Warner Showcase) 4.048-mile road course

Race 13 Sept. 4 Streets of Baltimore w/IndyCar/ALMS

Race 14 Sept. 4 Baltimore, Md. (Baltimore Grand Prix) 2-mile street course

* Subject to change

Related Racing News