Sorokin, Pruett-LeDuc win 2010 NHRA Heritage Series championships

Adam Sorokin and Leah Pruett-LeDuc secured 2010 NHRA Hot Rod Heritage Racing Series championships during the weekend at the California Hot Rod Reunion presented by Automobile Club of Southern California at Auto Club Famoso Raceway.

Sorokin came into the event trailing Jim Murphy by just nine points in Nostalgia Top Fuel and with a 17-point lead over Brad Thompson, who was third. Sorokin qualified sixth in the 16-car field and matched up with Thompson in round two, taking the win and eliminating Thompson from the title chase.

Murphy qualified No. 1 at 5.80 and set up a winner-take-all semifinal round with Sorokin when he outran Troy Green in round two. With the championship on the line, Sorokin took the holeshot and never looked back, posting the quickest time of the event at 5.634, 252.03 for the win, the championship, and the coveted NHRA Wally trophy.

Sorokin was to face off with 2009 NHRA Hot Rod Heritage Racing Series champion Brett Harris when lightning, wind, and rain put an end to the day’s activities. More rain fell Monday, and officials postponed the final until the Automobile Club of Southern California NHRA Finals in Pomona, Nov. 11-14.

Pruett-LeDuc began the year with a win at the March Meet (also at Auto Club Famoso Raceway) and came into the weekend with a 47-point lead in Nostalgia Funny Car over Tim Boychuk. Pruett-LeDuc broke on her burnout in her first qualifying attempt and had to rely on her second and final qualifying pass with 36 Funny Cars vying for a spot in the 16-car field. She clocked in at 5.88, 236.84, good for the 11th spot right behind Boychuk in 10th.

Pruett-LeDuc then beat Dwayne Patton in round one and Mike Halstead in round two with a 5.89, 237.78 to lock up the Nostalgia Funny Car championship. She then outran Claude Lavoie with an even quicker 5.82, 241.41 and will face Mark Hentges in the final in Pomona. Boychuk fell in round two to Lavoie.

Sorokin and Pruett-LeDuc celebrated with their teams in the 2010 NHRA Hot Rod Heritage Racing Series winner’s circle Sunday night.


Related Racing News