VW Jetta: Series news on champion Mobley

2010 Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup Champion JD Mobley Serves as Guest Driver in Scirocco R Cup

Mobley Earns Podium Finish in his European Debut

HERNDON, Va. (October 18, 2010) – Just three weeks after winning the 2010 Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup Championship, JD Mobley was in Germany this past weekend in order to participate as a guest driver in the Scirocco R Cup season finale at Hockenheim. Mobley proved his merit as a rising star, as the Castle Rock, Colorado native recorded a third place finish in his debut behind the wheel of a Scirocco R Cup car.

Not only was the regular 2010 Scirocco R Cup field incredibly competitive all season, but this weekend there were several other stars from motorsports competing as well. Adding to the Scirocco R Cup line-up at Hockenheim were many well-known drivers including: Ex Formula 1 driver, Johnny Herbert; World Rally Champion and Dakar winner Juha Kankkune; Giniel de Villiers, 2009 Dakar Champion; Willi Bergmeister, the first Scirocco Cup Champion from 1976; and former DTM driver Daniel la Rosa. The 2010 season marked the debut of the Scirocco R Cup, the most eco-friendly, one-make cup series in the world. The Scirocco R Cup is powered by compressed natural gas (CNG).

Mobley was certainly driving in good company this weekend and he held his own expertly, as he qualified third for Saturday’s race and finished just behind la Rosa, who took the checkered flag and Herbert who finished second.

“The race was really fun,” said Mobley. “The competition in the Jetta TDI Cup in the United States is definitely close but here it’s even closer. The duels were captivating and fair; I had an enormous learning curve. My first trip to Germany was an amazing experience and I know that I will certainly take what I’ve learned here this weekend with me as I progress throughout my career.”

Mobley was not the only Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup alumni competing at Hockenheim this weekend, as 2009 Jetta TDI Cup Champion Timmy Megenbier was a Series regular in 2010. Megenbier finished eighth this weekend and he ended the season eighth in the final point standings as well. Kris Heidorn earned the 2010 Scirocco R Cup title on the strength of a fourth place finish this weekend.

-source: volkswagen

Related Racing News

    blog comments powered by Disqus