Ave, Cunningham and Pobst On All-America Team Ballot

BURBANK, Calif. (Nov. 23, 2010) – Three SCCA Pro Racing Drivers’ Champions have been nominated for the 2010 Auto Racing All-America team, voted on by more than 250 members of the motorsports press. SCCA Pro Racing Trans-Am Series Champion Tony Ave has been nominated in the Road Racing category, while World Challenge GTS Champion Peter Cunningham and World Challenge GT Champion Randy Pobst are on the ballot in the At Large category.

The annual vote is conducted among the membership of the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association. The top two drivers from each of eight categories will be named to the first team, to be honored at the 41st annual AARWBA banquet Jan. 9 in Indianapolis, Ind. The winner of the Jerry Titus Award will also be announced at the banquet. The Titus Award honors the team’s top driver – the one earning the most votes in the balloting regardless of category.

Pobst has twice previously been selected to the team (once to the 2nd team, and once honorable mention), while Cunningham and Ave appear on the ballot for the first time.

Among those joining the SCCA Pro racers on the ballot are four former Jerry Titus Award winners, two from Indy Cars and two from NHRA drag racing – Dario Franchitti (2007, 2009), Tony Kanaan (2004), John Force (1996, 1999, 2000, 2002) and Tony Schumacher (2006, 2008). The ballot also includes three drivers among those with the most All-America first-team honors – Force (14 times), Scott Pruett from Grand-Am (10), and Schumacher (seven); two among those with the most total All-America honors – Force (15) and Pruett (12); and a driver among those who have received the most All-America selections while never bring voted first team – NHRA’s Greg Anderson (five).

Also on the ballot seeking selection in one of the eight categories – Open Wheel, Stock Car, Road Racing, Drag Racing, Short Track, Touring Series, Off-Road & Rally, and At Large – are 19 drivers who could be making their first-ever All-American appearance, including Ave and Cunningham.

The balloting will also determine a second team of the drivers placing third and fourth in each category, and honorable mentions to all other drivers receiving at least 5 percent of the vote. AARWBA members have annually chosen an All-America Auto Racing Team since 1970.

Additionally this year, for the first time the All-America voters will also select the first recipient of the AARWBA Rising Star award, also to be presented at the Jan. 9 banquet.

The banquet is open to the public. Ticket information is available from AARWBA, 922 N. Pass Ave., Burbank, Calif. 91505, or call (818) 842-7005.

The drivers listed below are on the 2010 All-America ballot. In endurance road racing and rallying, teammates sharing the same car are nominated as a single entity. Numbers in parentheses indicate previous times elected to first team/second team/honorable mention; *** indicates first time on ballot.

Ryan Briscoe (1/1/0) – Fifth in Indy Car, one win
Helio Castroneves (1/3/1) – Fourth in Indy Car, three wins
Scott Dixon (3/1/0) – Third in Indy Car, three wins
Dario Franchitti (2/1/2) – IRL Indy Car Champion, three wins including his second Indianapolis 500
Tony Kanaan (1/3/0) – Sixth in Indy Car, one win
Will Power (***) – Second in Indy Car, five wins

Kyle Busch (0/2/1) – Record 24 victories in NASCAR’s top three series (three Cup, record 13 Nationwide, eight Truck)
Denny Hamlin (0/1/0) – Second in NASCAR Sprint Cup, season-high eight victories; one Nationwide Series win
Kevin Harvick (1/1/1) – Third in NASCAR Sprint Cup, three wins; three Nationwide wins, three Truck wins
Jimmie Johnson (5/2/1) – Nextel Cup Champion for fifth consecutive year, six wins
Brad Keselowski (***) – Nationwide Series champion, six wins
Jamie McMurray (***) – Won NASCAR’s two premier races, Daytona 500 and Brickyard 400, plus a Chase race at Charlotte

Max Angelelli/Ricky Taylor (1/1/1 – ***) – Grand-Am Daytona Prototype runners-up, one win
Tony Ave (***) – SCCA Trans-Am Champion, six wins
David Brabham/ Simon Pagenaud (1/2/1 – 0/0/1) – ALMS LMP champions, four wins including Petit LeMans
Jon Fogarty/Alex Gurney (2/1/1 – 2/1/0) – Third/fourth in Grand-Am Rolex Daytona Prototypes, one win
Klaus Graf (0/0/1) – ALMS LMP runner-up, three wins
Scott Pruett/Memo Rojas (10/1/1 – 1/0/0) – Grand-Am Daytona Prototype champions, nine wins

Greg Anderson (0/4/1) – NHRA Full Throttle Series Pro Stock champion, five wins
Larry Dixon (2/1/1) – NHRA Top Fuel champion, 12 wins
Mike Edwards (0/0/1) – Third place in NHRA Pro Stock, eight wins
John Force (14/1/0) – NHRA Funny Car champion, 15th championship, six wins
Matt Hagan (***) – NHRA Funny Car runner-up, three wins
Tony Schumacher (7/0/0) – NHRA Top Fuel runner-up, six wins

Bryan Clauson (***) – Leading USAC Driver’s Championship, National Midgets, third in Sprints, fourth Silver Crown, nine wins
Levi Jones (0/2/1) –USAC Silver Crown champion, Sprint champion, second in Driver’s Championship, 10 wins
Darrell Lanigan (0/0/1) – World of Outlaws Late Models runner-up, seven wins
Jason Meyers (0/1/0) – World of Outlaws Sprint Cars champion, 12 wins
Josh Richards (***) – World of Outlaws late Model champion, second straight championship, eight wins
Tim Shaffer (***) – All-Star Circuit of Champions champion, 16 wins; won Knoxville Nationals, 21 total wins in season

Todd Bodine (1/0/0) – NASCAR Craftsman Trucks champion, four wins
Eric Holmes (0/0/2) – NASCAR K&N West Series champion, five wins
Clay Rogers (0/1/0) – USAR ProCup Champions Series champion and regular season champion, seven wins
Bobby Santos (***) – NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion, four wins
Patrick Sheltra (***) – ARCA Racing Series champion, two wins
Ryan Truex (***) – NASCAR K&N East Series champion, two wins

B.J. Baldwin (***) – Leading Best in the Desert Trick Truck class, one win, one first overall
Ricky Johnson (***) – Traxxas TORC Series Pro 2wd Champion, six wins; two wins (Pro 2) in Lucas Off-Road Racing series
Jesse Jones (***) – SCORE Desert Series overall champion, Trophy Truck champion, two wins, one overall victory
Tom Lawless (***) – U.S. Rally Championship AWD Class champion, three wins, different co-driver each event
Antoine L’Estage/Nathalie Richard (*** – ***) – RallyCar Rally America Series champions, two wins, leading Canadian Rally Series
Rob MacCachren (2/1/1) – Lucas Off-Road Series Pro 2 Champion, eight wins; also won in TORC (2), SCORE and SNORE races

Jorg Bergmeister/Patrick Long (3/0/0 – 1/0/0) – American Le Mans GT class champions, 4 wins
Peter Cunningham (***) – SCCA World Challenge GTS champion, eight wins
Frank Manzo (1/5/1) – NHRA Top Alcohol Funny Car champion (his 14th), six wins; NHRA Div. 1 TAFC champion (20th), six wins
Randy Pobst (0/1/1) – SCCA World Challenge GT Champion, four wins
Von Smith (0/0/2) – NHRA Get Screened America Pro Mod Champion, three wins
J.K. Vernay (***) – IRL Firestone Indy Lights Champion, five wins

source http://www.scca.com

If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your email!

Related Racing News

Optimized by SEO Ultimate