SpeedSource Enters Two Mazdas for Rolex 24 At Daytona

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – SpeedSource filed the latest entries for the 2011 Rolex 24 At Daytona, and will run a pair of Mazda RX-8s at the Jan. 29-30 classic at Daytona International Speedway.

Sylvain Tremblay and Jonathan Bomarito – who anchored the 2010-winning GT car – return in the No. 70 Mazda Speed Mazda RX-8. Tremblay also won the event with SpeedSource in 2008. The pair also won at New Jersey Motorsports Park among five podium finishes. Bomarito took third in the final GT standings and was named MESCO Building for the Future Rookie of the Year.

Emil Assentato and Jeff Segal return in the No. 69 FXDD Mazda RX-8. The pair finished 16th in the 2010 Rolex 24, but rebounded with back-to-back victories at Homestead-Miami Speedway and Barber Motorsports Park, opning a run of 10 consecutive top-four finishes that carried them to the title.

Additional SpeedSource drivers will be named in the near future.

GRAND-AM also received entries from two teams that recently announced their driver lineups. SunTrust Racing added car owner and two-time Rolex 24 winner Wayne Taylor to its lineup of Max Angelelli, Ricky Taylor and Ryan Briscoe in the No. 10 SunTrust Chevrolet/Riley. GAINSCO/Bob Stallings Racing formally entered the No. 99 GAINSCO Auto Insurance Chevrolet/Riley for two-time Daytona Prototype champs Alex Gurney and Jon Fogarty, joined by five-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson.

The next activity for the GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series presented by Crown Royal Cask No. 16 will be the Roar Before the Rolex 24 testing at Daytona International Speedway on Jan. 7-9.

source http://www.grand-am.com

Related Racing News

    blog comments powered by Disqus